TPO RESOLUTION #10-17

RESOLUTION URGING THE FEDERAL TRANSIT ADMINISTRATION TO DESIGNATE THE STRATEGIC MIAMI AREA RAPID TRANSIT (SMART) PLAN AS A PROGRAM OF INTERRELATED PROJECTS

WHEREAS, the Interlocal Agreement creating and establishing the Miami-Dade Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for the Miami Urbanized Area requires that the MPO provide a structure to evaluate the adequacy of the transportation planning and programming process; and

WHEREAS, under Resolution #06-16, the TPO Governing Board established a policy to set as highest priority the advancement of rapid transit corridor projects in Miami-Dade County; and

WHEREAS, under Resolution #26-16, the TPO Governing Board endorsed the Strategic Miami Area Rapid Transit (SMART) Plan; and

WHEREAS, the designation of the SMART Plan as a Program of Interrelated Projects will benefit and increase the likelihood of federal funding; and

WHEREAS, the SMART Plan corridors have logical connectivity to one another and are funded as Priority I for environmental phase in such a manner as to advance all corridors within a reasonable timeframe; and

WHEREAS, such designation of Interrelated Program of Projects is subject to approval by the Federal Transit Administration,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE GOVERNING BOARD OF THE TRANSPORTATION PLANNING ORGANIZATION IN ITS ROLE AS THE MPO FOR THE MIAMI URBANIZED AREA, urges the Federal Transit Administration to designate the Strategic Miami Area Rapid Transit (SMART) Plan as a Program of Interrelated Projects.

The adoption of the foregoing resolution was sponsored by Board Member Barbara J. Jordan and moved by Board Member Barbara J. Jordan. The motion was seconded by Vice Chairman Francis Suarez, and upon being put to a vote, the vote was as follows:

Chairman Esteban L. Bovo, Jr.-Aye Vice Chairman Francis Suarez-Aye

-Aye	Board Member Daniella Levine Cava	-Aye
-Absent	Board Member Roberto Martell	-Aye
-Aye	Board Member Joe A. Martinez	-Absent
-Aye	Board Member Jean Monestime	-Aye
-Aye	Board Member Dennis C. Moss	-Aye
-Absent	Board Member Jeff Porter	-Aye
-Aye	Board Member Rebeca Sosa	-Aye
-Aye	Board Member Javier D. Souto	-Absent
-Aye	Board Member Xavier L. Suarez	-Aye
-Absent		
	-Absent -Aye -Aye -Aye -Absent -Aye -Aye -Aye	-AbsentBoard Member Roberto Martell-AyeBoard Member Joe A. Martinez-AyeBoard Member Jean Monestime-AyeBoard Member Dennis C. Moss-AbsentBoard Member Jeff Porter-AyeBoard Member Rebeca Sosa-AyeBoard Member Javier D. Souto-AyeBoard Member Javier L. Suarez

The Chairperson thereupon declared the resolution duly passed and approved this 23rd day of March, 2017.

TRANSPORTATION PLANNING ORGAN	IZ AT HOANNING ON
By Zainab Salim, Clerk Miami-Dade TPO	MIAMI- DADE COUNTY ORIDA